Academic Institutions

Health Disparities, Education, Awareness, Research and Training (HDEART)

The Health Disparities Education, Awareness, Research & Training (HDEART) Consortium is a group of 28 U.S. health facilities and institutions of higher learning with the goal of addressing the challenge of global healthcare disparities through education, research and training. It is part of the Center for Research on Minority Health, CRMH.  The mission of the CRMH is to reduce the burden of disease in ethnic minorities and medically underserved populations, through outstanding, integrated programs in patient care, research, education and prevention. Current members of HDEART include the Baylor College of Medicine, City of Houston Department of Health and Human Services, Florida A & M, Instituto Nacional de Saldud Publica-Mexico, Michael E. Debakey Veterans Administration Medical Center, Praire View A&M University, Praire View University College of Nursing, Rice University, San Jacinto College, Texas A&M University, Texas A&M University at Corpus Christi, Texas Department of State Health Services, Texas Southern University, Texas Tech University Health Science Center, Texas Women's University, the University of Texas Health Center at Tyler, the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, the University of Texas M.D Anderson Cancer Center, the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.